When Shannon Passero bought the Post Office in Thorold the building had been empty for nearly a decade. She has worked closely with Heritage Thorold (LACAC), and returned much to its original state. Everything that has been replaced is in keeping with the original design, including replacing broken window panes using historic glass and designing a custom art deco railing on the outside. Antique tables, armoirs and trunks are used to showcase the clothing, and the impressive sales counter is from the Dominion Hardware store.
The Post Office received a National Trust of Canada Award in 2016 and was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act in 2003.
Post offices in Canada have always been important buildings in the community. They were often large and impressive buildings in central locations that became meeting places for the residents of the municipality.
The cornerstone for the Thorold Post Office, known at the time as the Dominion Building, was laid May, 1936. The building was originally six bays but was increased to 10 in 1957. You can still see the original sign above the original section of the building. The building has been constructed using white, ground Queenston stone in front and red brick for the sides and rear and was finished in a manner to befit a small city Canada in the 1930’s.
At the time of opening in 1936, the ground floor of Thorold’s Post Office was given entirely to Post office requirements. Customs and other Federal business was transacted on the upper floor. The janitor lived on-site with his family.